Reviews - Green Gables

Cosy, clean and friendly! - Rating 5/5

Thanks for and easy, comfortable stay!

Reviewer:michael s | Mon 18th Dec 2017 | 7 months ago


Was lovely- Rating 5/5

Was lovely staying here as soon as I walked in it felt like home beds were very comfortable definitely going to stay here again . Staff were very polite and helpful

Reviewer:christina w | Mon 27th Nov 2017 | 7 months ago


Green Gables - Rating 4/5

friendly staff, good breakfast, perfect location, clean room

Reviewer:Ales T | Fri 27th Oct 2017 | 8 months ago


Green Gables Experience - Rating 4/5

Pleasant stay in a comfortable room, Proprietor was extremely helpful regarding my needs and ensured my stay was stress free.Would recommend this establishment and when in the area again I would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Stephen T | Mon 17th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely family room - Rating 5/5

Staying away as 2 adults and 3 children 2 of which are teenagers its hard finding somewhere with a large family room well this place has one that is excellent.Also Martin is the most excellent host i would recommend.

Reviewer:Reuben W | Tue 30th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Simple and pleasant - Rating 5/5

Rome clean.Thehousekeeper efficient and discret.A good english breakfast.

Reviewer:Serge B | Tue 4th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Friendly and Great place - Rating 4/5

Friendly welcome, everything explained, room was great had all we needed and shops etc are local.Next time im that way i will be using again

Reviewer:Terry S | Mon 3rd Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


cosy family bed and breakfast- Rating 4/5

a nice warm welcome and a nice cosy room thanks

Reviewer:Stephen E | Tue 25th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Great Holiday - Rating 4/5

Very welcoming, and great breakfasts. Very good value for money.Mattress a bit lumpy otherwise a very pleasant stay, Thank you Marin

Reviewer:Mrs. Yvonne A | Fri 30th Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


You must stay here! - Rating 5/5

Our stay at the Green Gables exceeded all of our expectations. We were in a perfect location, walking distance to shops &could park our car outside the front door.Our room was very clean, well designed and the linen/towels were super soft. If I had to fault anything it would be the water pressure in the shower but the temperature was perfect.Do yourself a favour and have breakfast each morning. Martin makes an amazing English breakfast and I am having withdrawals now that I am back in London.We will definitely be staying here again in the future.Thank you for a great experience,Lynda &Dalton24y/o Australian couple

Reviewer:Lynda F | Sat 10th Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


mr and mrs woolfall - Rating 4/5

great welcome fantastic breakfast very clean, our first choice to stay when we go back

Reviewer:Stephen W | Sun 10th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Greengables guest house - Rating 5/5

Had a fantastic weekend very friendly and made very welcome great breakfasts every thing you need in the rooms and no issues on getting back late at night would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Judy B | Mon 13th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


1st time - Rating 5/5

booked Green Gables at the last minute based on web reviews. Very pleasant experience from initial greeting good sized room with en-suite and tea and coffee. Very comfortable bed and nicely decorated. would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen M | Mon 9th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Home comforts in a peaceful area - Rating 5/5

Beautiful rooms with en suites, clean, homely and will most definitely be returning. Thanks Martin!

Reviewer:Cameron B | Mon 2nd May 2016 | 2 years ago


Revisit - Rating 4/5

Hello Martin, just what I was looking for, will be back on Monday night for four nights.

Reviewer:Keith M | Sat 14th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Daughter - Rating 3/5

It was lovely place and ideal place for us to meet our daughter and dog friendly.And marty was was a lovely host

Reviewer:Steve B | Fri 13th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Great Breakfasts! - Rating 5/5

Good friendly place, I will go back again if I am in the area.

Reviewer:Mrs. Denise W | Wed 2nd Sep 2015 | 2 years ago


Short & Sweet - Rating 5/5

Excellent! Friendly &relaxed welcome from Martin - great simple breakfast, with super pot of tea - lovely garden to enjoy if time - room quite small, but just fine for a brief stop-over - quiet location, but lots of local facilities nearby - easy access to City Centre - value for money with good old English hospitality!Thank you - we'll be back.

Reviewer:Jean K | Mon 29th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


green gables- Rating 5/5

great 4 night stay 10th-14th april,very welcome&friendly,home from home,good breaky,visiting friends at chellaston so was very handy to get to.would highly recommend to any one,great value for money,if I could give more points I would.many thanks martin&linda.

Reviewer:Mr. John H | Mon 27th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


VERY PLEASANT STAY- Rating 5/5

BOOKED AT SHORT NOTICE ON THE SATURDAY 18-04-15 WITH GREEN GABLES, CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE ROOM,PLENTY TEA AND COFFEE MAKING FACILITIES, EXCELLENT FULL ENGLISH BREAKFAST IN DINING ROOM WITH VIEWS OF GARDEN, VERY REASONABLE RATES, GREAT HOSTTHANK YOU, WILL STAY AGAIN IF IN AREA, MICHAEL

Reviewer:Michael J | Mon 20th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Wonderful Break from London! - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed the midlands and Derby. My son teenaged son just loved this place. He was very comfortable and the B and B had everything we needed. The bonus was the Green Gables is just a short easy walk to the Derby FC Stadium. We just followed the crowd. Highly recommend this B and B. Lovely, Helpful people and a great location. Thank you.

Reviewer:Ms. Shawna T | Mon 23rd Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


Convenient and comfortable - Rating 4/5

Friendly and accommodating host. Lovely big room. Delicious breakfast too!

Reviewer:Mr. Thomas S | Tue 17th Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely gentleman - Rating 5/5

The owner informed us there were no more rooms and that he wouldn't take a payment as it was all so last minute. He couldn't have been more apologetic, was very nice and wanted to try and help me out but he had nothing available.

Reviewer:Dominic R | Mon 16th Feb 2015 | 3 years ago


Nice and friendly - Rating 4/5

Good accommodation very friendly

Reviewer:Kevin B | Mon 5th Jan 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent room for the price - Rating 5/5

I really can't ask for more, the room is neat and clean, service is very good, and the place is accessible to shops,petrol station and main road (derby). 5 star!

Reviewer:John Chris T | Sat 29th Nov 2014 | 3 years ago


Recommended Stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed 2 nights &had a very warm &friendly welcome. The room was ideal for our needs &the location good.We had a large white van, but advise in advance as everything is done to accomodate guest parking &departure times....something you don't get eveywhere!There is other easy parking very close in the event of problems.I wouldn't hesitate to recommend or stay here again :)

Reviewer:Pyramid P | Tue 14th Oct 2014 | 3 years ago


Green Gables - Rating 4/5

A friendly,comfortable and inexpensive B and B

Reviewer:Mr. Michael S | Wed 17th Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


home from home - Rating 5/5

very nice,kids felt at home so it made me and my hubby at home.very clean and tidy and would defo book again.

Reviewer:Julie S | Tue 2nd Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


Greengables - Rating 5/5

Tidy large family room very comfortable and rare size for a guest house. The breakfast was nice and garden was very pretty plenty to look at for the little ones. Would stay again, very polite owner that went out of his way to make the stay as you require it. Thanks

Reviewer:Christopher S | Tue 19th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


Very rude - Rating 1/5

I'm glad other guests have enjoyed Mr Richardson's hospitality but this wasn't our experience at all. Having arranged to arrive around 10pm we were then delayed, so when called by Green Gables, I asked if arriving around 10.30 was ok and was told it was. We knocked at just after 10.30 and Mr Richardson opened the door and said immediately and very aggressively 'I'm not happy'. Despite my apology he continued to repeat that he wasn't happy in a belligerent manner to the extent that we couldn't talk with him. If I had been on my own I would have felt very unsafe. My partner and I left straightaway and had to find another place to stay late at night.His behaviour was out of all proportion and totally unacceptable.

Response

Mr & Mrs Skelton booked their accommodation and we where told that they would arrive around 5pm it got to 5-45pm so i rang them and they said that they had been delayed and would possibly be another hour.It got to 7-30pm i rang them again. they then told me it would be about 10-30 pm. it got to 10-45 and they finally arrived.I told them that i was not happy, we are not a hotel with reception open 24 hours.We are a small guest house.They did not like what i said and they left.As you can see from the rest of my reviews.99% of guests that have stayed with us, have been highly delighted with me and the services that we provide.

Reviewer:Ms. Srivati S | Wed 9th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


short stay holiday - Rating 4/5

We had a very pleasant stay, very welcoming, thank you.

Reviewer:Beverley L | Thu 29th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Sat 15th Feb - Rating 4/5

Pleasant friendly b&b and reasonable value for money. Suggest that you change your sausage supplier though, cheap, tough and full of cereal.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert L | Sun 16th Feb 2014 | 4 years ago


Stay was comfortable - Rating 3/5

My stay was very comfortable and the owner was very friendly and helpful. Quiet surroundings and close to shops.

Reviewer:Mrs. Marion N | Tue 16th Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


Excellent accomodation - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed my stay at the Green Gables. Well equipped, and located in the perfect spot for my needs. Excellent value for money.

Reviewer:Ms. Saboohi F | Mon 15th Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


VERY PLEASANT STAY - Rating 4/5

I would recommend this B&B to anyone want ing a good breakfast, comfortable bed and a very relaxed &friendly atmosphere.We plan to return at the end of Julysylvieclarke

Reviewer:Mrs. Sylvia C | Mon 8th Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


Excellent accommodation - Rating 4/5

Dear Martin &LindaThanks for the warm welcome,comfortable bed and fantastic breakfast.Best wishesNelson &Ruth

Reviewer:Mr. Nelson P | Mon 31st Dec 2012 | 5 years ago


Worth a Visit - Rating 4/5

Would swear that I requested en-suite, but apart from the private bathroom we had a wonderful stay and would recommend GreeenGables to anyone. My best pal &I will certainly return when we next go walking in the area.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sally B | Tue 9th Oct 2012 | 5 years ago